Sedgeberrow Parish Council

Minutes of an Annual Council Meeting of the Parish Council held in The Betteridge Room, Sedgeberrow Village Hall on Wednesday 9th May 2018.

Present: Councillors: C Devereaux-Little (Chairman), S Morris, M Pratt, R Hunt, E Kearsey & A Thomas

In Attendance: County Councillor Liz Eyre, Donna Bowles (Clerk)

Also in attendance: 3 members of the public.

1	Election of Chairman:
	It was proposed by Cllr Thomas, seconded by Cllr Hunt that Cllr Chris Devereaux-Little be
	appointed Chairman of the Council for the municipal 2018/19. There being no other nominations,
	Cllr Chris Devereaux-Little confirmed he was happy to continue as Chairman and was elected to
	the position of Chairman unopposed.
2	Chairman's Declaration of Acceptance of Office:
	Cllr Devereaux-Little signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, witnessed by the Clerk to the
	Parish Council.
3	Election of Vice Chairman:
	It was proposed by Cllr Thomas, seconded by Cllr Devereaux-Little that Cllr Hunt be appointed as
	Vice-Chairman. He confirmed he was happy to continue with this role.
4	Apologies for Absence:
	Cllr John de Paris verbally tendered his resignation as Councillor which will be followed in writing.
	He then left.
	Cllr Emma Kearsey was welcomed on to the Parish Council. Cllr Kearsey signed the declaration of
	office, witnessed by the Clerk to the Council.
5	Disclosure of Interests:
	Members were reminded that they must act solely in the public interest and should never
	improperly confer an advantage or disadvantage on any person or to act to gain financial or other
	material benefits for themselves, their family, or close associate.
	Register of Interests:
	Members were reminded of the need to keep their register of interests up to date
	Dispensations:
	The Clerk confirmed there were no written requests for disclosable pecuniary interest for
	dispensations.
	Pecuniary Interests:
	Members were asked to declare any disclosable interests in items on the Agenda and their nature.
	Other Disclosable Interests. None.
6	Appointments:
	Worcestershire Association of Local Councils – Cllrs Devereaux-Little & Pratt were nominated and
	agreed by Council.
	Village Hall – Cllr Devereaux-Little was nominated and agreed by Council.
	Police Matters – Cllr Hunt was nominated and agreed by Council.
	Public Transport – Cllr Morris will speak with Mrs Sylvia Brown to see if she is happy to remain as
	warden for public transport.
	Footpath Warden – Cllr Morris will speak with Paul Mahoney to see if he is happy to remain as
	warden for the footpaths.

	Tree Warden – Cllr Devereaux-Little will speak with John de Paris to see if he is happy to remain as
	tree warden.
	Flood Warden – Cllr Hunt was nominated and agreed by Council.
7	Standing Orders:
	The Chairman suggested that the Council might like to set up a working party to adopt the NALC
	Model Standing Orders 2018 or consider a smaller version. This was following a conversation
	between the Clerk and Richard Levett from CALC who strongly recommended the Parish Council
	have some form of standing orders in place. Cllrs confirmed they were happy for a working group
	to be set up consisting of Cllrs Devereaux-Little, Thomas, Kearsey & Clerk. Clerk to arrange a
0	meeting.
8	Approval of the Council's Regulatory Documents:
	 a) Financial Regulations – it was agreed by all Members that the current financial regulations remain in place. It was discussed that the Clerk investigate becoming a signatory. Cllr Morris
	proposed, Cllr Hunt seconded. If this is approved a mandate to be signed to allow this.
	b) Risk Assessment – Cllr Devereaux-Little to send out an updated risk assessment.
	c) Insurance Requirements – Clerk provided the Members with the quote received from
	Ecclesiastical at £516.06. She also advised that the telephone kiosk recently adopted was
	covered under public liability but if the Council wanted to insure it against material damage it
	would cost a further £8.43. Cllr Devereaux-Little proposed, Cllr Kearsey seconded, all
	Members approved to add the £8.43 premium.
9	Asset Register:
	Acceptance of the Asset Register was proposed by Cllr Devereaux-Little , seconded by Cllr Hunt and
	agreed by all Members
10	Closure of the Annual Meeting:
	The Chairman closed the meeting at 19:55

Chairman:

Date: