MALVERN WELLS PARISH COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Malvern Wells Parish Council duly convened and held in The Village Hall, Wells Road, Malvern Wells at 7.00pm on Thursday, 19th May 2011

Present: Councillors K Wagstaff

Mrs H Burrage Mrs A Bradshaw P Buchanan Mrs C O'Donnell

Mrs A Cheeseman A Hull N Johnson B Knibb

M Victory

Apologies: Cllr Mrs A Bradshaw

In attendance: WCCllr Steve Browne, MHDC Cllrs C Cheeseman &

Mrs J Campbell, PC Jemma Greenhow,

David Taverner (Clerk)

39/11 Declarations of Interest for a) the Meeting and b) Any Changes to be Notified to the Registers of Interests and Gifts & Hospitality: There were none.

40/11 Election of Chairman

It was proposed, seconded and

Resolved Unanimously That in the absence of any other nominations Cllr Wagstaff be elected Chairman of the Parish Council for the ensuing municipal year. Cllr Wagstaff indicated that he would accept the post and signed his Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

41/11 Elected Members Acceptance of Office

This was the first meeting since the May 2011 Elections. All Members therefore signed their declarations of acceptance of office.

42/11 Election of Vice Chairman

It was proposed, seconded and

Resolved Unanimously That in the absence of any other nominations Cllr Mrs Burrage be elected Vice Chairman of the Parish Council for the ensuing municipal year.

43/11 Appointment of the Planning Committee

It was proposed, seconded and

Resolved That the following members be appointed to the Committee for the ensuing municipal year:-

Cllrs Burrage, Black, Bradshaw, Buchanan, Burrage, Cheeseman, Hull, Knibb, O'Donnell, Victory & Wagstaff

44/11 Appointment of the Finance & General Purposes Committee

It was proposed, seconded and

Resolved That the following members be appointed to the Committee for the ensuing municipal year:-

Councillors Bradshaw, Hull, Johnson, Knibb & Victory plus the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Parish Council, ex-officio.

45/11 Appointment to the Environment Committee

It was proposed, seconded and

Resolved That the following members be appointed to the Committee for the ensuing municipal year:-

Councillors Black, Buchanan & Cheeseman

46/11 Appointment to the Staffing Committee

It was proposed, seconded and

Resolved That the following members be appointed to the Committee for the ensuing municipal year:-

Councillors Bradshaw, Buchanan, Knibb, plus the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Parish Council, ex-officio.

47/11 Appointment to the Grievance Panel

It was proposed, seconded and

Resolved That the following members be appointed to the Panel for the ensuing municipal year:-

Councillors Black and Cheeseman – (One vacancy)

48/11 Appointment to the Appeals Panel

It was proposed, seconded and

Resolved That the following members be appointed to the Panel for the ensuing municipal year:-

Councillors Hull and O'Donnell. (One vacancy)

49/11 Appointment to the Website/IT Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and

Resolved That the following members be appointed to the Working Group for the ensuing municipal year:-

Councillors Burrage, Hull, O'Donnell

50/11 Appointment to the Gas Lamps Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and

Resolved That the following members be appointed to the Working Group for the ensuing municipal year:-

Councillors Black, Burrage, Buchanan, Bradshaw and Hull

51/11 Appointment to the Cemetery Working Group

Resolved That the following members be appointed to the Working Group for the ensuing municipal year:-

Councillors Burrage, Cheeseman and Johnson

52/11 Appointment to the Open Spaces and Play Working Group

Resolved That the following members be appointed to the Working Group for the ensuing municipal year:-

Councillors Knibb, O' Donnell and Wagstaff

53/11 Representation on outside bodies

Resolved that members be appointed to the undermentioned outside bodies as follows:

Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty Cllr J Black (Liaison member for Jt Advisory Cttee –

subject to agreement of CALC)

Malvern CAB Management Cttee Cllr N Johnson

Malvern Wells Village Hall Cllr Mrs H Burrage

Management Committee

Hanley Castle Almshouse & Cllr Mrs A Bradshaw Relief in Need Charities and Cllr K Wagstaff

Monitoring Group of the Cllr Mrs A Cheeseman

Three Counties Showground

Malvern Community Policing Cllr B Knibb

Matters Group

Abbey College Liaison Group Cllr K Wagstaff

Abbey House Liaison Group Cllrs Buchanan

& Mrs Bradshaw

CALC Malvern Hills Area Cllrs Burrage & Knibb

CPRE Malvern Hills Cllr Mrs A Cheeseman

Emergency Plan Liaison Cllr Mrs H Burrage

61/10 Election of Chairmen & Vice Chairmen of Committees

In accordance with notice duly given, the Planning Committee and the Finance & General Purposes Committee convened briefly for the purpose only of electing their Chairman and Vice Chairman respectively for the ensuing municipal year.

Resolved that the undermentioned members be elected accordingly:

Planning Committee

Chairman Cllr P Buchanan Vice Chairman Cllr A Hull

Finance & General Purposes Committee

Chairman Cllr N Johnson Vice Chairman Cllr Mrs A Bradshaw

Staffing Committee

To elect chairman at the first Meeting of the Committee

(Chairman) 23rd June 2011