MALVERN WELLS PARISH COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Malvern Wells Parish Council duly convened and held in The Village Hall, Wells Road, Malvern Wells at 7.00pm on Wednesday, 22nd May 2013

Present:	Councillors	K Wagstaff S Atwell Mrs C O'Donnell A Hull J Black Mrs H Burrage M Victory

S Freeman P Buchanan B Knibb N Johnson K Hurst Mrs A Bradshaw

Apologies: None recorded

In attendance: David Taverner (Clerk and Responsible Finance Officer)

01/13 Disclosable Pecuniary interest declarations and any changes to be notified to the Register of Interests and Gifts & Hospitality – Declarations of interest were noted as those which had been previously recorded and no changes were necessary to the register.

02/13 Election of Chairman

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that in the absence of any other nominations **Clir Burrage** should be elected Chairman of the Parish Council for the ensuing year. Clir Burrage indicated that she would accept the post and signed the appropriate Declaration of the Acceptance of Office.

In assuming the Chairmanship Cllr Burrage proposed a vote of thanks to the outgoing Chairman - Cllr Keith Wagstaff - for all of his sterling work on behalf of the Council during his service as Chairman.

Cllr Wagstaff had shown exemplary leadership, dedication and commitment in the role and had helped to steer the Council through a range of challenging issues in a most calm and professional manner. This had served to greatly underline and promote the Council's reputation both within the parish and the wider community.

Several Members spoke in to second Cllr Burrage's remarks and it was **resolved unanimously** that the sincere thanks and appreciation of the Parish Council should be accorded to Councillor Wagstaff for his outstanding contribution as Chairman of the Council during the previous three years.

In his reply Cllr Wagstaff thanked colleagues for their kind remarks and for the support and the work that they had undertaken during the period of his Chairmanship. He gave special thanks to Cllr Burrage for her excellent support in the role of Vice Chairman and to current and former the Parish Clerks – David Taverner and Susan Hughes - for the effort and the commitment which they had also shown in their respective roles.

03/13 Election of Vice Chairman

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that in the absence of any other nominations **Clir K Wagstaff** should be elected Vice Chairman of the Parish Council for the ensuing year.

04/13 Appointment of the Planning Committee

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Planning Committee for the ensuing year:-

Cllrs Burrage, Black, Bradshaw, Buchanan, Burrage, Hurst, Hull, Knibb, O'Donnell, Victory, Wagstaff, Freeman and Atwell

05/13 Appointment of the Finance & General Purposes Committee

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Finance and General Purposes Committee for the ensuing year:-

Councillors Bradshaw, Hull, Hurst, Johnson, Knibb & Victory plus the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Parish Council, ex-officio

6/13 Appointment to the Environment Committee

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Committee for the ensuing municipal year:-

Councillors Atwell and Buchanan

07/13 Appointment to the Staffing Committee

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Staffing Committee for the ensuing year:-

Councillors Bradshaw, Buchanan, Knibb, plus the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Parish Council, ex-officio.

08/13 Appointment to the Grievance Panel

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Grievance Panel for the ensuing year:-

Councillors Black, Freeman and O'Donnell

09/13 Appointment to the Appeals Panel

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Appeals Panel for the ensuing year:-

Councillors Hull, Johnson and Atwell

10/13 Appointment to the Website/IT Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Website/IT working group for the ensuing year:-

Councillors Atwell, Hurst and O'Donnell working in liaison with the Chairman of the Council and the Chairman of the Finance & General Purposes Committee

11/13 Appointment to the Gas Lamps Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Gas Lamps working group for the ensuing year:-

Councillors Black, Buchanan, Bradshaw, Freeman and Hull

12/13 Appointment to the Cemetery Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Cemetery working group for the ensuing year

Councillors Black, Burrage and Johnson

13/13 Appointment to the Open Spaces and Play Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the open spaces and play working group for the ensuing year Councillors Knibb, O' Donnell, Atwell, Freeman and Wagstaff

14/13 Appointment to the Parish Plan Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Parish Plan working group for the ensuing year

Councillors Buchanan, Hull, Bradshaw, Atwell, Hurst, Johnson and Freeman

15/13 Representation on outside bodies

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the undermentioned outside bodies as follows:

Malvern CAB Management Cttee	Cllr N Johnson
Malvern Wells Village Hall Management Committee	To be held in abeyance
Hanley Castle Almshouse & Relief in Need Charities	Cllr Mrs A Bradshaw and Cllr K Wagstaff
Monitoring Group of the Three Counties Showground	Cllr Mrs C O Donnell
Police Liaison Matters	Cllrs B Knibb & P Buchanan
Abbey College Liaison Group	Cllr K Wagstaff
Abbey House Liaison Group	Cllrs Buchanan & Mrs A Bradshaw
CALC Malvern Hills Area	Cllr B Knibb
Emergency Plan Liaison	Cllr Mrs H Burrage & K Wagstaff

16/13 Election of Chairmen & Vice Chairmen of Committees

In accordance with notice duly given, the Planning Committee, the Finance & General Purposes Committee and the Staffing Committee convened briefly for the purpose only of electing their Chairman and Vice Chairman respectively for the ensuing municipal year.

It was proposed, seconded and r**esolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the respective posts:

Planning Committee

Chairman	Cllr P Buchanan
Vice Chairman	Cllr A Hull

Finance & General Purposes Committee

Chairman	Cllr N Johnson
Vice Chairman	Cllr Mrs A Bradshaw

Staffing Committee

Chairman Cllr k Wagstaff

The Annual General meeting was then declared closed at 7.35pm

Chairman.....Cllr H Burrage Dated 18th June, 2013