MALVERN WELLS PARISH COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Malvern Wells Parish Council duly convened and held in The Village Hall, Wells Road, Malvern Wells at 7.00pm on Wednesday 25th May 2016

Present: Councillors Mrs H Burrage S Freeman

M Victory B Knibb
Mrs C O'Donnell N Johnson
Mrs J Smethurst P Bennett

N Chatten

Also in attendance: David Taverner (Clerk and Responsible Finance Officer)

Apologies for absence: Councillors K Wagstaff, J Wagstaff, J Black, S Atwell and County Councillor Mrs L Hodgson

Declarations of Interest

a) Register of Interests: Councillors were reminded of the need to update their register of interests: No such changes were required.

- b) To declare any Disclosable Pecuniary Interests in items on the agenda and their nature: There were none.
- c) To declare any Other Disclosable Interests in items on the agenda and their nature: There were none
- 162/16 To Consider Requests from Councillors for the Council to Grant a Dispensation (S33 of the Localism Act 2011): There were none

163/16 Election of Chairman

161/16

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that in the absence of any other nominations **Clir Neil Chatten** should be elected as **Chairman of the Parish Council** for the ensuing year. Clir Chatten indicated that he would accept the post and signed the appropriate Declaration of the Acceptance of Office.

A presentation was made to the outgoing chairman, Cllr Mrs Helen Burrage, in recognition of her sterling service in the post during the previous three years.

164/16 Election of Vice Chairman

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that in the absence of any other nominations **Cllr Mrs J Smethurst** should be elected **as Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council** for the ensuing year.

165/16 Election of members to serve on the Finance & General Purposes Committee

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the **Finance and General Purposes Committee** for the ensuing vear: -

Clirs Johnson, Burrage, Freeman, Knibb, Victory, K Wagstaff together with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council, ex-officio

166/16 Election of Chairman & Vice Chairman of the Finance & General Purposes Committee

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that **Clir N Johnson** should be elected as the Chairman of the Committee and that **Clir M Victory** should be elected as its Vice-Chairman.

167/16 Election of members to serve on the Planning Committee
It was proposed, seconded and resolved unanimously that the following
members be appointed to the Planning Committee for the ensuing year: Clirs Burrage, Black, Bennett, Chatten, Freeman, Johnson, Knibb,
Smethurst, Victory, K Wagstaff, J Wagstaff

168/16 Election of Chairman & Vice Chairman of the Planning Committee

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that **Clir P Bennett** should be elected as the Chairman of the Committee and that **Clir N Johnson** should be elected as its Vice-Chairman.

169/16 Appointment to the Environment Committee

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Committee for the ensuing year: **-Councillor Mrs J Smethurst.** The Chairman of each Environment Committee meeting to be appointed at each of its meetings on a rolling basis.

170/16 Appointment to the Cemetery Committee

It was proposed, seconded and resolved unanimously that the following members be appointed to the Cemetery Committee group for the ensuing year: **Councillors Black, Burrage and Johnson**

171/16 Election of Chairman of the Cemetery Committee
It was proposed, seconded and resolved unanimously that Cllr Mrs H
Burrage should be elected as the Chairman of the Committee.

172/16 Appointment of members to the Staffing Committee
It was proposed, seconded and resolved unanimously that the following members be appointed to the Staffing Committee for the ensuing year: - Councillors, Burrage, Freeman, Knibb, Smethurst and K Wagstaff together with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Parish Council, ex-officio.

173/16 Election of Chairman of the Staffing Committee
It was proposed, seconded and resolved unanimously that Clir Mrs J
Smethurst should be elected as the Chairman of the Staffing Committee.

174/16 Appointment of members to the Grievance Panel
It was proposed, seconded and resolved unanimously that the following
members be appointed to the Grievance Panel for the ensuing year: Councillors Black, O'Donnell and Victory

175/16 Appointment to the Appeals Panel

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Appeals Panel for the ensuing year: - **Councillors Bennett, Johnson and J Wagstaff**

176/16 Appointment to the Gas Lamps Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Gas Lamps Working Group for the ensuing year: - **Councillors Black, Chatten, Burrage, Smethurst, Freeman**

177/16 Appointment of Chairman of the Gas Lamps Working Group It was proposed, seconded and resolved unanimously that Cllr Freeman should be elected as the Chairman of the Gas Lamps Working Group.

178/16 Appointment to the Play and Open Spaces Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Play and Open Spaces Working Group for the ensuing year: - Councillors Knibb, O' Donnell, Freeman, J Wagstaff, K Wagstaff and Chatten

179/16 Appointment of the Play and Open Spaces Working Group Chairman It was proposed, seconded and resolved unanimously that Mrs C O' Donnell be elected as the Chairman of the Play and Open Spaces Working Group and that Cllr B Knibb be elected as its Vice-Chairman.

180/16 Appointment to the Community Events Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Community Events Working Group for the ensuing year: - **Councillors Mrs H Burrage, Johnson, Black and Mrs C O'Donnell**

181/16 Appointment of the Community Events Working Group Chairman It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that **Clir Johnson** be elected as the Chairman of the Community Events Working Group for the ensuing year.

182/16 Appointment to the Communications Working Group

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the Communications working group for the ensuing year: - **Burrage, Johnson, O'Donnell, Smethurst, J Wagstaff and Freeman**

183/16 Appointment of the Communications working group Chairman It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that **ClIr Mrs J Smethurst** be appointed as the Chairman of the **Communications Working Group** for the ensuing year.

184/16 Representation on outside bodies

It was proposed, seconded and **resolved unanimously** that the following members be appointed to the undermentioned outside bodies as follows:

Malvern CAB Management Cttee	Cllr N Johnson
Malvern Wells Village Hall Management Committee	Clir J Black
Hanley Castle Almshouse & Relief in Need Charities	Cllr K Wagstaff
Monitoring Group of the Three Counties Showground	Clir Mrs C O Donnell and Clir P Bennett
Abbey College Liaison Group	Cllr K Wagstaff
Abbey House Liaison Group	Clirs Mrs C O'Donnell and S Freeman
CALC Malvern Hills Area	Cllr B Knibb
Emergency Plan Liaison	Cllr Mrs H Burrage
Wyche Institute	Cllr B Knibb
vi y circ institute	

Chairman..... Cllr N Chatten

Dated 29th June, 2016

The Annual General meeting was then declared closed at 7.25pm